explosion-proof motor

Understanding Explosion-Proof Motor Classifications

According to National Fire Protection Agency, 37,000 industrial fires occur at industrial and manufacturing properties every year. Industrial properties can be dangerous places. It is important to make sure that you take certain safety precautions.


That's why if you own an industrial property, investing in an explosion-proof motor could be a good move to make. But what is an explosion-proof motor?


Keep reading to learn about explosion-proof motors and the different explosion-proof motor classifications.


What Is An Explosion-Proof Motor?

An explosion-proof motor is a type of motor used in industrial settings where combustible materials are present.


Explosion-proof motors aren't immune to external explosions. So why use explosion-proof motors?


Their name refers to the motor having features that keep internal explosions from igniting other, larger explosions. They're used in an environment full of combustible materials.


What Are Explosion-Proof Motors For?

Explosion-proof motors power machinery and pumps in industrial areas where there are hazardous and combustible materials


Because these motors run on electricity and are used in an enclosure, they will not cause a fire or explosion if they have an internal explosion or rupture. This keeps the employees and equipment at the industrial site safe even if equipment malfunctions.


What's the Difference Between Explosion-Proof and Intrinsically Safe Motors?

Explosion-proof motors are different from intrinsically safe motors because they are enclosed in a case that will survive a gas or vapor explosion. In short, it means that any explosion stays contained within that enclosure and will not spread.


Intrinsically safe motors are motors that work off of inherently safe circuits. They're designed to be incapable of causing an explosion or ignition of combustible gas or material. 


Classes of Explosion-Proof Motors

There are different classifications of explosion-proof motors that you should be aware of. The classes are separated by the explosive materials the motors are designed to be around.


There are two main classes and divisions that this article is focused on: Class 1, Division 2 motors, and Class 2, Division 2 motors.


Class 1, Division 2 Motors

This type of motor is designed to be in an area where combustible gas or vapor is present only in the case of an equipment error. Under normal circumstances, there would be no explosive gases or vapors in the area.

The rules for this type of motor are not as strict because there would need to be two separate errors for an explosion to happen. Those errors are the original equipment error that led to the leak, and then the motor malfunctioning for ignition.


Class 2, Division 2 Motors

This motor type is similar to Class 1 motors in the sense that it is in a place where it would take two equipment errors to cause an explosion. Under normal circumstances, there would be no dust around the motor.

Class 2 motors are for areas that have combustible dust. The goal with class 2 motors is to prevent the dust from ever coming into contact with an igniter. 

This means that the temperature of the igniter and motor should never be above the temperature needed to ignite the explosive dust around it.


Need Replacement Explosion-Proof Motors?

Explosion-proof motors are valuable failsafe that keep people safe and protect industrial areas. They're a great safety measure that prevents disasters. 


In an industry that deals with combustible materials, it isn't worth the risk of using faulty equipment. DTR Services Ltd. provides reliable explosion-proof motors to businesses across Western Canada. Call us to learn more.